Tough decision

Today’s weather is nearly perfect. High of 67 and bright, warm sunshine. The type of day just made for a nice long run. Today, I’m supposed to run 10 but not sure I should. Tough decision…

My knee is not 100%, still have some ‘tightness’ above and around the knee that just isn’t right. But, it doesn’t hurt to run, I’m just sore after. Last week ran 8 and surprised at the lack of soreness next day. Oddly, the knee was more sore after an easy 4 a few days later.

Since the 8 wasn’t traumatic, going for 10.

The safe route would be to scale back, not push my mileage and bag the July marathon. But, not ready to do that, yet.

Let’s see how 10 goes.

About Scott

Training to qualify for the Boston Marathon and simplify our life, as a stay at home dad.
This entry was posted in Long Run, marathon training, Medical and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Tough decision

  1. I’m in the same position, except I can only do 2 miles pain free. I still haven’t made a decision about my June 22 marathon, I’ve paid and there is no deferring, so I still think I’ll try. Glad to know I’m not the only one out there, stay safe, run happy!

  2. Best to rest it up, don’t push through. Listen to your body, it always knows best! Rather be fully fit, knees are very titchy. Cross train to keep your cardio up, water running is good, cycling, walking. You want to run that marathon 🙂

  3. Well after being off for two months and now going onto month three, I see things much differently now. I am super bummed that I still can’t run and looking back wish that I would have stopped at the first signs of this injury. Instead I kept trying to run through it, because it did not feel that bad. It just continued to progress and get worse… . Anyways, I would advise you to take off a day or two to let your body rest/heal up. It is much better than a few months :). But you also have to go by the way you feel!

    • Thanks for your thoughts. I’ve been following your situation via your blog. Hang it there and take it slow.

      For every door that closes, you may notice an opened one.

      And YES, listen to your body, it does know best.

      • That is absolutely true about other doors opening. I think this injury was a good wake up call for me to begin stretching. And perhaps I will have gained strength in other areas through this that may really help me!

Leave a Reply

