To bike or not to bike

IMG_5707Since starting kindergarten and biking the boy on the cargo bike to school, I figured it was only a matter of time before he would generate the interest in learning to ride a bike himself. The weeks and months passed and I couldn’t get him to even sit on his bike.

Other kids on the street, younger than him begin to learn to bike, up and down the sidewalk. Numerous times, I asked if he wanted to get his bike out too to join them. “No” was the response.

The boy truthfully could ‘ride’ a bike, mostly using a pedal bike as a push bike. Really hadn’t mastered the whole “breaking” thang.

Back in the spring, a school parent mentioned a Canadian company that put on small bike clinics (aka camps) in different neighborhoods, throughout the city in the summer. When I found one, near our hood, I signed him up for the first full week after school ended in June.

Naturally, when I informed the boy he would be going to ‘bike camp’, he exclaimed not only no interest but said “I’m not going.” And naturally, I ignored that comment and on the appointed date and start time we showed up a nearby baseball field with bike and helmet in tow. One appealing advantage to this camp, that I as a parent trying to teach him to ride was peer pressure. His class only held three other students and most were younger, 4-5 years old.  Now, not only did I have the peer pressure (he thinking if they can learn to ride, guess I can too) working on my side but these fellow pedal heads were younger. That first day, I left him, feeling confident that this experiment was going to work.

The class was only a half day, 3 hours, so I returned at lunch time. And guess what I saw:

This isn't so hard.

This isn’t so hard.

The instructors created a small obstacle course with cones and the class was BIKING between the cones. Not only was he pedaling, braking but held a HUGE smile across his face.

Each day, it was fantastic to see him gain confidence in turning, braking, learning some basic rules of the road and also just having fun.

Success!!!

About Scott

Training to qualify for the Boston Marathon and simplify our life, as a stay at home dad.
This entry was posted in Ballard, Memories, Seattle, Stay At Home Dads and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to To bike or not to bike

  1. Tim K says:

    Yay, more kids on bikes!

  2. Hey! It wasn’t easy. Feel a bit lame, having to hire out that task.

  3. bgddyjim says:

    Awesome! Gotta love it!

  4. Bah! Don’t feel lame for one bit. You gave him exposure to other teachers and the freedom to figure something out without you. I’m in the same boat right now regarding swimming. If you’ve got any ideas, float’em past me……

Leave a Reply

