Three days and counting…

I’m running the Victoria Marathon in just three days. And oddly, I haven’t been thinking much about it. Usually, I’m completely obsess over upcoming races…

Maybe it’s a good thing that I’m not so focused on the event. Perhaps, it means I have internal peace…?

Two reason that, perhaps I should be thinking about the race more:
1. missed nearly a week or training runs, last week
2. still haven’t decided on my race strategy.

Last Sunday, ran 13miles and that night felt a cold/flu approaching. It’s not unusual for me to catch a cold during the taper period. After months of pushing the body, sometimes it pushes back. Therefore due to the flu symptoms (achy, runny nose and sore throat), I didn’t run until six days later. Looking at my running log, that is the longest gap between runs since a mid March cold. Fortunately, the cold never took over and I feel fine (knock on wood).

My race strategy changes from day to day. One day I’ll decide to simply focus on running a 3:30 (8:01 pace), which may be a challenge itself while other days I convince myself that I really can get down to 3:25 (7:55 pace) so I should shoot for that pace. And then other days, I’m extra delusional and think 3:23 (7:50) is within reach. My justification for attempting a 3:23 is that I have nothing to lose, trying to run that fast. Worse case, I flame out at 18 or 19 miles, deeply embed myself into “the wall” and must walk/shuffle that last miles. What I’ll likely end up doing is start with the 3:30 pace group and then after 6 or 13 miles, try to pick up the pace.

Bought a new pair of shoes today and ran three miles around Green Lake. New shoes always feel good and I do think they will help on race day. Probably will not run again before Sunday but likely do some walking around Victoria after the Victoria Clipper lands Saturday at noon. Tomorrow, I start some carbo loading and making sure I’m hydrated. And lastly, I should get to bed early tonight since Will is home tomorrow, which means no nap for me. Ok, going to bed now.

About Scott

Training to qualify for the Boston Marathon and simplify our life, as a stay at home dad.
This entry was posted in marathon training, Medical and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

