Kids say the darndest things

I volunteer one hour per week in my son’s kindergarten class. And when I eaves drop kids talking to one another or when I over hear conversations that are too loud not to be over heard, the topics vary, from:

  • stop touching me
  • tell him to stop touching me
  • I love the Seahawks too
  • who would win the battle to the death between Good cop vs Bad cop, in the Lego movie?
  • My parents only bath me once a week too.

Not to stereotype but most of the conversation I hear in the classroom and outside after school are ‘normal’ for 5-6 year olds.

The other day I was in the class, cutting out some pictures the teacher had laminated. (Ever notice that kindergarten teachers laminate pounds of pictures, charts, numbers, letter, ever day?) “S” a student,  is sitting beside me. As I cut, I also help him complete his worksheet from last Friday. He is doing a pretty good job of slowly finishing his work but an excellent job of talking to me. We are sitting together, in the back of the room. The rest of the class are seated on the floor, doing a lesson, in the front of the room. Before today I have never had a conversation with S before. He is 5 years old:

S: Hey Will’s dad, do you know the band Van Halen?

Will’s Dad: Yeah, the band from the 1980s, I know them

S: My dad says they really rock and he played me a few songs and they really do rock. Hard

Will’s Dad: I’d agree with that. In particular, Eddie rocks

S: You mean the guitarist “Edward” VanHalen? Oh, man does he rock it. My dad played me a video of just his guitar work. Wow. What’s your favorite VanHalen song? Mine is “Jump”.

Will’s Dad: “Jump?”, hey that is my favorite song too. I don’t think the band wrote that song…Wasn’t that song actually written by Roddy Frame of Aztec Camera?

S: Maybe, but Van Halen rocks!

About Scott

Training to qualify for the Boston Marathon and simplify our life, as a stay at home dad.
This entry was posted in Memories, School and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Kids say the darndest things

  1. Bex says:

    Ha! Kids are hilarious. I miss mine being so small and innocent.

  2. bgddyjim says:

    Van Halen does (did) rock! Van Hagar? Not so much. And I won’t tell you my favorite song… It would be um, inappropriate methinks. LOL!

Leave a Reply

