The start of the long march to Eugene

This week is the beginning of my training for the 2015 Eugene Marathon. This is week #20. (20 weeks before the race)

EugeneThe start of every training period always fills me with mixed emotions. First, I’m excited, eager to get the ball rolling and return to the weeks of compiling enough miles to turn my legs “heavy” and long runs that completely wear me out but still result in the ‘runners high.’

On the flip side, since I’ve done this 18 other times, I know the amount of work, time and likely suffering that is coming my way. Not to forget all those ICE baths. Training for a marathon, particularly one where you target a PR, is simply a daunting task.

Historically, I’ve developed my own training plan, based upon a few books. And I think I’ve been pretty successful. But this time, I’m  going all out- found a coach. An online coach. A neighbor down the street is a pretty serious triathlete and completed several marathons. Not sure how she found ‘David’ but she gave me his contact info and sang his praise. So, I emailed him a few questions and I liked his responses around his training philosophies and methods that I signed up.

Each week coach David will share a google document (xls) that lists in the first column each day’s specific running workout. The next column is ‘what I actually did’, the third column is ‘David feedback, next ‘injuries’ and finally, ‘notes/life getting in the way’. I’ll update this document daily and he’ll review it at least once more likely 2-3 times per week. Over the weekend and build the next week’s workouts based up how the previous week played out.

Since I’m only in week one, I don’t have much feedback to write about having an online coach yet but, based upon his experience as a serious (world class) runner and his unending enthusiasm, I’m very glad I found him and signed up.

About Scott

Training to qualify for the Boston Marathon and simplify our life, as a stay at home dad.
This entry was posted in marathon training and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The start of the long march to Eugene

  1. I’m excited to follow along in your training! I’m just starting my plan as well, so mostly I’m feeling really excited 🙂 It’s been a while since I’ve trained for a marathon, so I think my mind has kind of forgotten the aches and pains that go along with it.

  2. Thanks for your comment. I am extra nervous because I know I’m going to run significantly more miles and more speed work than ever before. If i can arrive at the starting line healthy, should have a good shot at hitting my goal.

    Good luck with your training. Stay healthy.

Leave a Reply

