Elephants never forget

They say that elephants never forget. They should say the same about Will.

The other day, we were talking about his Halloween costume and he has decided to dress up as Emmet, from the Lego movie. Have I mentioned, “The Lego Movie” is his all time favorite movie and he sings the song, “Everything is awesome” daily, often for hours at a time?

After a bit of Googling images of home made Emmett costumes, I thought I could give making the costume a shot. Making this costume at home, is a good opportunity to share ‘crafts’ time with the boy. Something I haven’t done enough of.

So I told him I would start the next day.

And the next day, of course I completely forgot I had ‘committed’ to that task. That afternoon, during snack time, after school pick up, guess what is the first question out of his mouth?

“Dad, did you start working on my costume today?”

me- “oops, no. I’ll put it on my to-do list for tomorrow.”

Next day, “Dad, did you start working on my costume today?”

Me, “duh”

So, day three I actually started on the costume. He really wasn’t interested in helping. So much for ‘bonding’ time with the boy…Took an hour or two. I call it a ‘prototype’.

photo(6)He was thrilled to put it on. But, I think its too short so I’ll try again, make it about 6 inches longer. And cut the head hole smaller.

Back to being an elephant. I can’t tell you how many times he calls me on things I haven’t done yet, that are on my ‘to-do’ list.

I think I should stop making a ‘to-do’ list.

About Scott

Training to qualify for the Boston Marathon and simplify our life, as a stay at home dad.
Quote | This entry was posted in Art, Holidays, Memories, Stay At Home Dads and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

