Running marathons will ruin your knees…

I train for and run marathons, that is what I do. Since 2008, I am pretty much always training for the next race. One reason I keep running is because running that much gives me numerous benefits I really appreciate:

  • keeps weight gain to zero. Most middle age men slowly add weight, year over year. Currently, I weigh nearly exactly what I did 5 years ago.
  • I eat better
  • I sleep better
  • I’m fit

Naturally, there is the downside of marathon training and the most feared one is “Injuries.” Running can cause literally dozens of different injuries but the most common is that:

“Running marathons will ruin your knees…”

kneeYeah, we’ve heard it over and over. And though there wasn’t clear evidence I mostly believed it. How could that much pavement pounding, year after year, not damage your knees?

Although I accept the fact that this much running will cause injuries, and I have numerous Sports Med and PT appointments in the past 5 years to prove it,  it’s nice to hear that common running “assumptions” don’t always hold true:

http://well.blogs.nytimes.com/2013/09/25/why-runners-dont-get-knee-arthritis/?_r=0

About Scott

Training to qualify for the Boston Marathon and simplify our life, as a stay at home dad.
This entry was posted in marathon training, Medical and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Running marathons will ruin your knees…

  1. Great! Looks like the coast is clear for us runners!

Leave a Reply

