Recent NPR story on SAHDs

The other day, I caught part of this on the radio. Here is the entire story:

“Stay-At-Home Dads, Breadwinner Moms And Making It All Work”

Link to the story and 200+ comments

About Scott

Training to qualify for the Boston Marathon and simplify our life, as a stay at home dad.
This entry was posted in Stay At Home Dads, The Media and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Recent NPR story on SAHDs

  1. I noticed this right away when you posted it last week. A friend of mine had sent it to me via NPR. It was a decent article, a lot of stuff by the media about stay-at-home dads is fine but fairly useless…..the same tired storylines over and over that don’t really stimulate any dialogue or new ideas. My skin crawls whenever I think about the risks of being out of the workforce for a certain period of time and I think either this article or some commenters to it, spoke to that harsh reality and sort of drew some parallels and contrasts between the experience of women and men in that situation.

    Hope your training is going good!

    • Thanks for your comment.
      Yup, this article was ok, didn’t break much new ground.

      I completely agree that there is significant ‘risk’ to dropping out of the workforce, for any period of time. Personally, I had reached a point in my profession where I needed a change. So, my choice to stay home was pretty easy. And I realize I am extremely lucky that my spouse’s income can cover most of our living expenses.

      Lastly, I try to focus on the ‘now’ and the benefits to the entire family of a S-A-H Dad.

  2. Peter S says:

    Hey there fellow Stay at home Dad! I think I may have given up trying to listen to news stories about SAHD. They all seem to cover the same ground. But maybe I’ll try this NPR story.

Leave a Reply

