Never under estimate the power of the jinx

I’m into my third week of training for my next marathon after taking off about 2 months for an injury. Haven’t discussed the current training much here, because I truly believe if I talk too much about my training, specifically how its going pretty well, I will jinx myself and an injury will pop up. I learned at a very young age: Never under estimate the power of the jinx.

Where did I learn such a valuable lesson, (or paranoia)….?

Growing up in North Carolina, in the 1970s, the number one show in reruns was The Andy Griffith show. It seemed to be on, at least once a day, every day for the entire 25 years I lived in the state. One of my favorite episodes was called “the jinx.” JINXA local, is deemed a ‘jinx’ which naturally Barney believes and Andy thinks is non sense. Barney is determined to prevent his best friend Andy from being infected by this jinx that he combats the threat with one of the all time great quotes from the show:

Barney Fife: “Fly away buzzard, fly away crow, way down south where the winds don’t blow. Rub your nose and give two winks and save us from this awful jinx.”

After all these years, thinking about that episode still makes me laugh.

Back to running…. I was originally talking about my Marathon training. The knee is holding up and I’m hitting 30 miles this week and completed a 12 mile long run last week. So far so good. The only downside is that I wish I had another 4 weeks to get into BQ shape since this course is ideal for setting a PR.ย  But at least I should be able to run (but not race) the Tunnel marathon in 10 weeks. From where I was in February (not running), I can’t complain.

But periodically, I still rub my nose and give two winks.

About Scott

Training to qualify for the Boston Marathon and simplify our life, as a stay at home dad.
This entry was posted in marathon training, Memories and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Never under estimate the power of the jinx

  1. This blog title called to me! I am glad to hear you are running! You’re right, being able to race at all and maybe not PR beats not racing and running any day!
    I’m also all about the jinx. As soon as I created a training plan for this Ironman, I got injured. Now, if I come home from a run and my husband asks how it went, I won’t verbalize. I nod yes or no while knocking on wood. Some would call it crazy…I think I might have to try rubbing my nose and winking!

Leave a Reply

