Initial thoughts about Boston

I am a runner, a marathon runner and I wanted to be at Boston 2013. I spent more than a year training to get there.

I learned of the bombing at the Boston Marathon about two hours after it happened. I knew yesterday was the marathon and I had hoped to follow it but actually forgot about it until I turned on the TV and CBS had interrupted regular programming.

Initially, after the first wave of utter shock cleared, my thoughts were selfish; I was glad my family wasn’t there, since I failed to qualify. But as the details of the explosion came to light, realizing how many people were injured, thoughts turn to others. The comparisons of Boston to Baghdad, in detailing what carnage an ‘improvised explosive device’ can do to a human body seemed other worldly.

Yesterday was supposed to be about Boston celebrating a tradition, a holiday, runners celebrating months or years of difficult training that allowed them to cross the finish line.

Such a senseless, cowardly act.

Initially, I also thought the Boston Marathon will never be the same and I don’t want any part, even if I could qualify. But after thinking and reading other runner’s reaction, I’m wrong. The marathon will not be the same but likely will be better. Runner’s are refocusing their goals and training to be there next year to be witness, to celebrate those injured and lost at Boston 2013.

Hope to see you there.

Quick edit. Just learned the Yankees will play ‘Sweet Caroline’ at tonight’s game for Boston.

http://newyork.cbslocal.com/2013/04/16/yankees-to-play-sweet-caroline-hold-moment-of-silence-in-honor-of-boston/

About Scott

Training to qualify for the Boston Marathon and simplify our life, as a stay at home dad.
This entry was posted in Holidays, Race and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

