Stay at Home Dads online

Since I left the cubicle farm, I haven’t made much of an effort to find and connect with other Stay at home dads (SAHD) in the area. And I kinda regret that.

Today, heard on the radio that there are an estimated 175,000 SAHDs. Impressive. Recently, I stumbled across a FaceBook Group “Dad bloggers”, so I requested to join. The group only began in December 2012 and as of today, membership surpassed 200. The topics of discussion are entertaining and often enlightening. A sample include:

  • The Definitive Internet White Paper On When To Expose Your Kids To Star Wars.
  • How “Mr. Mom” is an insult
  • How did you come to the decision to use, or not use, your kids’ photos online?
  • do you pay your children for doing chore
  • Louis CK on men’s innate tendency to @#$%^

The Louis CK post received about 253 comments.

πŸ™‚

Many of the threads are well written, thoughtful and long posts. Kinda the opposite of what I’m doing. On the serious side-I think I’ll start a thread on “How to prevent your toddler from getting out of bed dozens of time a night.” Since Will went to bed 90 minutes ago and has walked out of his room now 6 times. And it isn’t even 10pm.

About Scott

Training to qualify for the Boston Marathon and simplify our life, as a stay at home dad.
This entry was posted in Memories, Stay At Home Dads and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Stay at Home Dads online

  1. Kelsey Drake says:

    SAHD bloggers sound way cooler than SAHM bloggers. I have never come across a blog on when Star Wars should be introduced to my kid, but now I need to know! πŸ™‚

  2. I think it is awesome to connect with other people in similar situations, even if they don’t live near you! I’m glad you found a facebook group that can help you discuss the intricacies of star wars age appropriateness. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

