Comfort Food

Just notice I haven’t written about the magic being created in the kitchen in awhile.

The other night a friend joined us for dinner so I wanted to make something requiring a bit more effort and was seasonally appropriate. I do LOVE comfort food, especially in the winter. We have about 20 cookbooks and most I’ve never opened so decided to grab “Barfoot Contessa– Family Style.” Turned right to ‘Chicken Stew with biscuits’. How can you say ‘no’ to anything with biscuits….?

photo(5)Didn’t look too complicated, nor required any ingredients likely unable to track down. The only thing I failed to grasp was the amount of time required.

Preparing the ‘stew’ (onions, oil, flour, carrots, peas, chicken) took the longest. I forgot that I needed to first cook the chicken (4 splits) then remove from bone before adding into the stew.

Basically, it is a giant chicken pot pie, dumped on a cookie sheet with a dozen biscuits on top.

Anyway, about 2.5 hrs later, my creation nearly mirrored this picture (from the book). The family and friend enjoyed it and I too thought was very flavorful and would definitely cook it again.

Did I mention Will LOVES biscuits. He is a good ‘southern’ (southern China that is).

Now, I have no idea the calorie and fat count (LOTS of butter) but I’ll worry about that another day.

About Scott

Training to qualify for the Boston Marathon and simplify our life, as a stay at home dad.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Comfort Food

  1. rebecca2000 says:

    It looks a little like chicken pot pie.

  2. Kelsey Drake says:

    Looks delicious! A friend shared this recipe with me in January, and I think you would like it as well. It is the same idea as the Barefoot Contessa Chicken Pot Pie, but might be a little healthier: http://www.skinnykitchen.com/recipes/chicken-pot-pie/

    I make it all the time and my husband and baby can’t seem to get enough of it!

Leave a Reply

