2012 Marathon training review and 2013 Goals

With the start of the new year, before I look forward, time to quickly look backward.

My Goals for 2012 included:
1. stay healthy (injury free)
2. Run 2 or 3 marathons
3. Run sub 3:30 Marathon
4. swim once a week
5. eat more pancakes

When I wrote ‘healthy’, I think I meant something more specific, like ‘injury’ free. And I am extremely pleased to state that in 2012 I remained injury free. No major adjustments to the training schedule required. And 2012 is the first year in two maybe three years I wasn’t forced to take off weeks or months to recovery from an injury. Fingers crossed that 2013 continues as injury free.

I did run and complete three marathons:

  • Tacoma City (3:53)
  • Light at the End of the Tunnel (3:30)
  • Victoria, BC (3:52)

Although I failed to run a ‘sub’ 3:30, I’m still very pleased to drop 7 minutes off the PR with that time. And let’s just forget about the “Wall” issue in Victoria…

Swimming, that was my stretch goal and I missed it by a long shot. Think I swam about 7 times, so just 46 short.

And lastly, the pancakes- what is there not to love? I definitely ate more pancakes and enjoyed each and every single one.

2012 Running totals:

  • Total miles = 1190 (most miles ever)
  • Peak month = April 137 (2nd most ever behind 143 in 2011)

2013 Goals:

  1. Stay Healthy
  2. Run 3 or 4 marathons (Tacoma, Light at end of the Tunnel, ?, ?)
  3. Sub 3:25-MyBQ !!!
  4. Drop 5lbs to 175
  5. Stretch more
  6. Continue to eat more pancakes

And a very Happy (and Healthy) New Year to you!

About Scott

Training to qualify for the Boston Marathon and simplify our life, as a stay at home dad.
This entry was posted in marathon training, Race and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to 2012 Marathon training review and 2013 Goals

  1. Frank K. says:

    I know about the wall all too well. Thanks for reading my blog, and I look forward to following your progress in 201!3.

  2. Yum! I love pancakes, so that is certainly a good NYR! hahaha! How are you planning on spacing out your 3-4 marathons? I did two last year and will probably do two again this year. I did one in the Spring and one in the Fall. I’m not sure if I could do anymore. My Fall marathon left me to recover for two months!

    • In 2013, I’ll likely follow the same time table as I did in 2012. Run marathons in May, July and October. Bit tight but I gave myself two week recovery, then another two weeks to slowly build up training miles again.
      Which two will you run in 2013?

  3. It’s all about staying injury-free — and eating more pancakes! Great goals for the new year.

  4. lrekkerth says:

    Good Luck this year! I have plans pretty similar to you, planning on 4 more marathons, with the goal to qualify for Boston. Good luck in May!

  5. Thanks for the good wishes. My training plan has more speed and more miles than I’ve run in the past, so gotta stay healthy.

    What is your first marathon this year?

    Hope to see you in Boston in 2014 !!

  6. zoeforman says:

    Funny that the world over our 2013 goals are similar – change race names, times & locations but spot on. We all want to drop a few pounds & know we should stretch !!

    Good luck with your goals & qualify attempt for Boston.

  7. Madeleine says:

    Love the pancake resolution šŸ™‚ Hats off to you for fitting in all that training while looking after a toddler. Can’t be easy!

Leave a Reply

