The 2013 Marathon Plan

About a year or so ago, I bought Advanced Marathoning by Pete Pfitzinger and Scott Douglas. Highly recommended by several sources and I read it but didn’t use it as the main source to development my 2012 training schedule. Truthfully, it looked intimidating; really thought my body wasn’t ready and therefore it would increase my risk of injury.

Next year (2013), this book will be my main tool to develop my training schedule. Going to use the 18 week (55 mile peak) training template. The objectives I think this book will help me achieve include:

  • More weekly miles. I MUST log more miles to increase my endurance and stamina. I’ve run the last 6+ marathons and haven’t broken 50 miles once during my peak week. If I’m serious about getting my PR down another 5-10 minutes, this is my #1 priority. The Pfitzinger plan will have me run six 50 and above mile weeks, out of the 18 week training plan.
  • Running faster; a healthy mix of half marathon to race pace runs. Throughout the schedule, Lactate threshold and VO2 runs which should improve my running economy.

Since Victoria, I only ran a few (slow) recovery runs in October but now I’m starting to ramp back up the miles running 3-4 per week to get ready to begin the 18 week training program late December that will culminate with the Tacoma City Marathon on 5/5/2013. I haven’t decided if I’ll run TCM for my PR or just as a training run for the Tunnel Marathon in July. Likely, depends upon how the training goes.

Currently, the number of joggers I encounter is significant because the Seattle Marathon is the weekend of Turkey day. But after that race, December- February, the number of runners out and about will significantly drop off as many take the winter off. This is the critical time for me since I’ll have to maintain motivation to get the required miles in to build the foundation of fitness the rest of the year’s training requires.

We shall see how it goes…

About Scott

Training to qualify for the Boston Marathon and simplify our life, as a stay at home dad.
This entry was posted in marathon training and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

