Back up care advantage program

Until Yesterday, I had no idea what “back up care advantage program” was all about. Today, I was loving it.

Yesterday, woke up with a stomach ache that turned into the flu. Ran a fever for most of the day that peaked at 102. Needless to say, when you feel like sh*t, toddler care presents new challenges.

Although, I must say Will’s easy going nature prevented a bad situation from getting much worse. We both took naps (yipee) from 2-4pm. After I got him up, I took him downstairs and we laid together on the sofa watching the local 4:30, then 5pm news. He fiddled with one of his airplanes as I thanked him over and over for not being a high maintenance kid.

KW was in the 3rd day of a training so I told her to finish up and not come home early. Any other day, she would have left work and put me to bed. She then remembered her company provides “back up care”, which means a nanny comes to your house or you can take your child to certain day care centers. We get about 20 days a year and they charge us just $3.00 per hour. She suggested signing up to get help today. She didn’t have to ask twice.

At 7:00am today, Brenda showed up right on time and stayed until 5pm. I slept until 9am, and stayed in bed most of the day. Read the local newspaper, most of the Sunday NY Times and dozens of college basketball online posts from my Tarheel yahoo group- read more in one day then I had in many moons. The nanny took care of everything Will related; feeding, changing, took him to the park during a massive wind storm and read his favorite books (likely more than once).

Gotta admit, I am a big fan of “back up care”. Sadly, I am feeling better so tomorrow, back to work.

About Scott

Training to qualify for the Boston Marathon and simplify our life, as a stay at home dad.
This entry was posted in Medical and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Back up care advantage program

  1. kerryanne says:

    OMG! That is amazing! I know so well what it’s like to have to play mommy while sick…

Leave a Reply

