Background part 2

The running bit.

I’m a runner, a marathon runner. Although I’m not a novice, I admit I have plenty to learn to improve my running. Have raced a few 10ks and half a dozen half marathons but I’ve been bit by the Marathon bug.

Since I’m no wordsmith, it’s a challenge for me to document why training for marathons means so much and I continue. Perhaps, it is the structure of my training plan and completing the daily and weekly training targets.

Currently, I’m on week 10 on my training schedule for the Columbia River Power Marathon. This race is in two weeks and will be my 9th marathon. My first was back in 97 but didn’t get the bug until last October. The race in two weeks will be my 6th within a year.

Yakima River Canyon Marathon 3/2010

Six within a year is nuts (for me) and I don’t expect to ever do that again. The main reason I ran so many was by running 3 in less than 90 days I satisfied one of the criteria to become a MARATHON MANIAC I’m #2623.

Although the main reason I run doesn’t relate to setting a new PR (personal record), a secondary reason I run is to qualify for Boston. The current qualifying time for my age is 3:20, and I’d see that ever happening. But, in two years when I turn 45 and the time bumps to 3:30, that is what I’m shooting for. So, for the past year I’ve slowing lowered my PR. In May 2010, I finished the Eugene Marathon with 3:38. Therefore, within two years, I need to lose 8 minutes. This, I can do.

The trick isn’t just the continuation of marathon training but doing so while being a new stay-at-home-dad (SAHD). Finding a happy medium is what this blog is all about.

As I’ve mentioned earlier, I have lots to learn on both fronts (SAHD and marathon training), so I’m hoping the little online community this blog will help build can help me reach both goals.

Thanks for reading


About Scott

Training to qualify for the Boston Marathon and simplify our life, as a stay at home dad.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Background part 2

  1. Ann says:

    Scott – I didn’t know about the running. How on earth are you fitting it in? (Next post?) Oh, and we’ll need more silly boy pictures – of Will, of course!

  2. jon says:

    so what is it about running that keeps bringing you back?

    • Scott says:

      Likely a combination of several things:
      -achieving short and long term goals
      -exercising this much and being fit, I sleep, eat and feel better
      -enjoy being outside
      -motivated to get to Boston before I can’t do this anymore

Leave a Reply

